Composition of the Executive Board

J.J. (Han) Fennema, CEO and chair of the Executive Board

(1964, Dutch nationality)

Han Fennema joined the Executive Board on 1 January 2014 and took on the position of CEO and chair of the Executive Board on 1 March 2014. This term ends in 2018.

Responsibilities and focus areas:
As chair of the Executive Board, Han Fennema has certain specific tasks and responsibilities, which are closely related to his coordinating role as CEO and are mentioned in Article 4.2 of the rules of procedure containing the principles and best practices of the Executive Board. In addition, he is responsible for:

  • the three business units (GTS, Participations and Gasunie Deutschland)
  • HR staff services, including the Strategy & Innovation, Safety and Audit departments

Other board positions:

  • Chair of the board of the Koninklijke Vereniging van Gasfabrikanten in Nederland (KVGN)
  • Member of the Supervisory Board at the Hanze University of Applied Sciences in Groningen
  • Member of the Shareholders’ Committee, Nord Stream AG
  • Member of the International Supervisory Board, Energy Delta Institute
  • Member of the Advisory Board, Clingendael International Energy Programme
  • Member of the Executive Committee, International Gas Union

I.M. (René) Oudejans, CFO

(1961, Dutch nationality)

René Oudejans is CFO and has been a member of the Executive Board since 1 October 2012. He was reappointed on 1 October 2016. He also served as acting CEO of GTS from 28 February to 1 September 2017.

Responsibilities and focus areas:

By virtue of his position, René Oudejans is responsible for the financial reporting and associated accounting to the Audit Committee and the Supervisory Board. He also has lead responsibility for the internal aspects of finance, treasury, control and risk management, and the relevant departments. In addition, he focuses on:

  • the IT and Legal Affairs corporate staff services

Other board positions:

  • Board member, Pensioenfonds N.V. Nederlandse Gasunie (since 1 July 2013)
  • Member of the Supervisory Board, Zorggroep Alliade

B.J. (Bart Jan) Hoevers

(1971, Dutch nationality)

On 1 September 2017, Bart Jan Hoevers joined the Executive Board as a titular member. Bart Jan Hoevers is CEO of Gasunie Transport Services B.V.

Responsibilities and focus areas:

  • Operations and Projects unit

Other board positions:

  • Board member, Netbeheer Nederland
  • Board member, European Network of Transmission System Operators for Gas

U. (Ulco) Vermeulen

(1959, Dutch nationality)

On 1 May 2016, Ulco Vermeulen joined the Executive Board as a titular member. Ulco Vermeulen is Director of Participations.

Responsibilities and focus areas:

  • Corporate Business Development

Other board positions:

  • Member of the Supervisory Board, ICE Endex Holding B.V. Chair of the Board, Groen Gas Nederland
  • Chair of the Executive Board, Energy Delta Institute
  • Member of the Supervisory Committee, Energy Academy Europe
  • Member of the Strategic Board, Energy Valley
  • Chair of the Board, TKI Gas
  • Chair of the Strategy Committee, International Gas Union
  • Member of the Supervisory Committee, Ommelander Hospital Groningen (since 1 March 2018)

 Additional information on the background of the Board members is given on our website.